You are hereThe Cabins / Northern Route

Northern Route

      This portion of the log cabin trail includes the townships of Lynn, Heidelberg, and Washington, and various villages and towns including Wanamakers, New Tripoli, Slatedale, and Slatington. The Northern Section has seven log buildings included on the trail. They are the Ramaley Log House in Slatington, the German Log House in Slatedale, the Bellis Log House near Lehigh Furnace Gap in Washington Township, the Zeisloff Log House and rebuilt Fort Everett both in Ontelaunee Park in New Tripoli, the Stanley Log House along PA Route 143 in Lynn Township, and the historically important Frederick Leaser Log Cabin and related historic sites near Wanamakers in Lynn Township.

Remaley Log House

       This two story log house, built by Charles Remaley, apparently is the only log building remaining in Slatington. The current wavy chinking is not original. The six-over-six window sashes on the front of the building may be original. This is a drive-by site.

      Access: This house is located at 1217 Main St., Slatington, PA near the top of the hill at the south end of town. Return to Route 873 and Neffs Church, turn right and drive north for 4.3 miles on Route 873 to the south end of Slatington where the building is located on the right amid dense vegetation.

German Log House

       This two story log and stone building was the original house of Joseph German who built the structure. He was a farmer and land owner who sold part of his land late in the 1840s. The building is one of two log structures remaining in Slatedale, but the only one with logs exposed to the outside, which gives the building an especially charming appearance. This is a drive-by site.

Bellis Log House

       This two story log building is one of the most northern log structures remaining in Lehigh County. The six-over-three window sash on the gable end is a unique size. At one time the building was named “Villa Maria,” but that name is no longer used. This is a drive-by site.

Zeisloff Log House

       George Zeisloff (who built this log house) and his brothers Balthazer and Nicholas, arrived in America from Germany on September 1, 1736. George and his family joined the Allemaengel Moravian Congregation on May 12, 1755. In 1756, most of the Zeisloff family was massacred by Native Americans during the French and Indian War. Only two sons survived.

Fort Everett

      This fort and its stockade wall, now (but not originally) adjacent to the Zeisloff Log House, is rebuilt with the intent of simulating the approximate appearance of the original fort that was located near the former American frontier along the base of the Blue Mountain or Kittatinny Ridge in colonial times.

Stanley Log House

      This two story log house apparently predates the American Revolution. It is located near what once was the American frontier along the base of the Blue Mountain (Kittatinny Ridge) in Lynn Township. There was a central fireplace, and there is a Salen Fenster, or soul window, in the back of the building.

Frederick Leaser Log Cabin†

       The Frederick Leaser Log Cabin is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In Revolutionary War times, Frederick Leaser was a Pennsylvania German farmer who helped to save the Liberty Bell (see Local Frederick Leaser Memorials section). The structure is a “bank” log building. Its north side appears to have two fairly distinct sections suggesting different construction times. The building currently needs major restoration work.